The Board

In terms of the Ingonyama Trust Act as amended the Board is constituted  of nine (9) members as follows. His Majesty the King or his or her nominee who is the chairperson of the Board. Four (4) members of the Board are appointed by the responsible Minister after consultation with His Majesty the King, the Premier and the chairperson of the House of Traditional Leaders of KwaZulu – Natal. The other four (4) members of the Board are appointed with due regard to regional interests in consultation with the Premier, His Majesty the King and the chairperson of the House of Traditional Leaders. The term of office of these members is four (4) years but they are eligible for further appointment. The Vice Chairperson of the Board is appointed by the Minister after recommendation by the Board.

HIS MAJESTY THE KING Zwelithini Goodwill kaBhekuzulu

Sole Statutory Trustee / Chairperson of the Ingonyama Trust Board

He was coronated on the 3rd December, 1971 after his father King Cyprian Bhekuzulu ka Solomon passed away in 1968. It will be noted from this brief narrative that his surname Zulu is not mentioned when reference is made to him or his predecessors who are mentioned by their first names.

Current position

The King is the head of the Zulu nation and the monarch of the province of KwaZulu-Natal. The Zulu people are spread all over the world and their combined estimate is in excess of twenty five million. These people trace their ancestry to KwaZulu-Natal where the old Zulu kingdom under the mighty  and renowned  King Shaka ka Senzangakhona once flourished. The King is the direct descendant of this Royal dynasty. The year 2016 marked forty five years of the King’s reign and two centuries of King Shaka’s death. This also makes him the longest serving king in the Zulu people’s history.

Judge Sipho Jerome Ngwenya acts as Chairperson of the Board when His Majesty is not available and he is also the Chairperson of the Board’s Exco. He has written a number of judgements on various aspects of the law one of which dealing with the status of African women within South African law specifically on the rights of inheritance. He is also the Chairperson of the Mangosuthu University of Technology Council.

Robin Raubenheimer was born and grew up in Pietermaritzburg. Having left school with a standard 8 certificate (Grade 10), he obtained his matric and university qualifications by part-time studies. He was a civil servant all his career retiring as KZN Superintendant-General / Head: Local Government and Traditional Affairs. He is active in the Anglican Church and holds the Order of the Holy Nativity.

Jabu Bhengu was born and raised in Pietermaritzburg, KZN. She is a qualified teacher with a BA (Hons) degree and an advanced University Diploma in Information Studies. She has worked in the Education, Training and Development fields in different departments and organisations she is presently retired from the public service.

Tshitshi Mbatha was born and raised in KwaZulu-Natal. She holds a PHD in Social Welfare Policy from Brandeis University in U.S.A. She is a director of the Centre for Development Research and Facilitation.

Bhekani Leonard Shabalala was born in Ladysmith KZN. He holds a BA degree from UNISA, majoring in Public and Development Administration. He has been a civil servant all his working life and is presently employed as a General Manager in the Department of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs.

Advocate Vela Zimele Mngwengwe has extensive experience in land reform with a track record from the province of KZN being a district manager for the erstwhile Department of Land Affairs. He is now based at the Department of Rural Development and Land Reform Headquarters in Pretoria.

Inkosi S E Shabalala’s profile will be posted soon.

Inkosi Z T Gumede’s profile will be posted soon. 

Inkosi P R Bele’s profile will be posted soon.

Inkosi W T Mavundla’s profile will be posted soon.